Looking for first day ideas for 6th grade math

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by teachermomof2, Aug 17, 2011.

1. teachermomof2

teachermomof2 Rookie

Aug 17, 2011

Hi,

I'm new to 6th grade, but have been teaching for 17 years now. I thought I read about an activity to do with 6th graders on the first day of math class here, but I can't seem to find it. It involved having students create a number "quilt" by representing one number 6 different ways on a sheet of paper. Does that sound familiar? If not, I'm looking for as many ideas as possible.

Thank you!

Lisa

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2011

I think you could do this but I would use a fraction or decimal as the starting number with sixth graders. Or have the students write expressions for a whole number.

A teacher in my school has the students make a math glyph.

I usually just jump into problem solving with students.

4. roxstar

roxstar Companion

Aug 19, 2011

I found a great one in a book called So You Have to Teach Middle School Math. I am using it on the second day but it would work on any day. Assign a dollar value to each number of the alphabet and display the letter key for students. So...A=$1, B=$2 all the way to z=$26. You need to use either your white boards or use butcher paper to create a sort of dollar number line. I can't post anything yet because I am new so I hope I am making sense. I should look something like below all the way to $150.

$1-5 $6-10 $11-15 etc.