Long Rant

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Roobunny, Sep 13, 2014.

1. Roobunny

Roobunny Comrade

Sep 13, 2014

A brief background: This is my third year at my current school. The previous two years I was a second-grade teacher. This year I was hired as a K-3 reading interventionist, but two weeks before teachers returned I was sent to a training on dyslexia instruction. I also found out that the 4-9 interventionist was moved to ESL. I was under the impression I would be part of a team, but come to find out I am completely on my own.

3 weeks in and I met with our principal yesterday. He is new to our school and a first-year principal. I was explaining to him what I had in mind for the "program" this year (we have no reading intervention curriculum, so I am pulling resources from various sources). We disagreed on several things - he didn't like that I had grouped a 3rd grade non-reader with my emergent readers, some groups aren't completely full yet, etc. I told him my reasoning behind my groups and why I didn't think it was best practice to be necessarily grouping all students based on their grade level. I also told him that although there are several groups that might only have 4 students, these groups would be filling up quickly as students' BoY test scores come in and more teachers refer students to me, not to mention those students who are not showing progress in Tier II.