Long periods - not engaging students well

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacherguy111, Oct 7, 2013.

1. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Oct 7, 2013

Hey guys,
    I am new to an excellent STEM school in a big city. We have very long periods here (1 hour 45 minutes).... I am finding it hard to keep students engaged for this long. I teach middle school English. I know some people would love to have this much time to plan and do all they want etc, but I am finding it hard to keep them excited and engaged for that long everyday.

What kind of things can I do to keep them active and engaged during these lessons. I have one class that is VERY squirrely .... I know they would probably benefit from more group activities, hands on stuff etc, but they are so hard to keep under control that I sometimes don't even want to try anything new.

3. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Oct 7, 2013

Your problem sounds EXACLTY like mine except our classes are 95 minutes. After about 45 to 60 minutes, students really start to "lose it" but I know many math and English teacher really wanted the extra time. I would much rather teach six 45 minute periods a day than three 95 minutes.

I have no solutions but I wish you good luck!:)

4. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Oct 7, 2013

You need to have at least 5 different things to do each day. 1 hour 45 min is a lot, I used to have 90 min which I LOVED.

Here's basically what I would do:
    -Warm up (15 min or so)
    -Introduce new information (20-30 min)
    -Activity on new information (15-20 min) [this can be worksheets, diagrams, mini research, articles, discussions, etc)
    -New vocab activity (10-15 min)
    -Closing activity (10-15 min)

5. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

6. Ms.SLS

Ms.SLS Cohort

Oct 7, 2013

For my block days (English teacher also), I'll typically structure it something like this.
    Warm up - 5 min
    Grammar activity - 15 min