logical thinking/problem solving games

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by Jenlovestoteach, Dec 26, 2007.

1. Jenlovestoteach

Jenlovestoteach Comrade

Dec 26, 2007

For those who don't know, I am an enrichment teacher in my building and work with all grade levels throughout the year... When we get back from break I am about to begin working with our 3rd grade and on Friday the teachers left me with the thought that they want to do a 6 week (30 minute sessions once a week) unit on math games/logical problem solving... I have great books of logic puzzles and deductive reasoning that my 4th graders love and they would be a stretch for 3rd grade but doable... I was wondering if anyone has any other resources that you think would be helpful... Is there a teamwork problem solving activity that would be appropriate that could last them 2 or 3 sessions maybe? thanks in advance!!

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 15, 2008

You could arrange a classroom mystery where students have to work together in teams to solve the case.

For a quick game here or there, you can play What's Behind the Green Glass Door, the camping game, or the line game.

All of the games have the same two rules:
    1. When you figure out the game, you have to join in and give a statement proving that you've figured out the game.
    2. You can't tell anyone else how to play the game. They have to figure it out for themselves.

What's Behind the Green Glass Door is the most difficult of the three games. You make a series of statements which include one thing you can have or do, and one thing you can't have or do. For example:
    You can have a cheeseburger, but you can't have a hamburger.
    You can't take math, but you can take spelling.
    You can see, but you don't have any eyes.
    You can live in Mississippi, but you can't live in Florida.
    You can sleep, but you can't take a nap.
    You can be named Timmy, but you can't be named John.