Literacy Dilemma

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by sarie, Apr 19, 2012.

1. sarie

sarie New Member

Apr 19, 2012

I am a new teacher at a preschool. My class will be an expansion of the other 3-4 year old class since enrollment is full. I am supposed to essentially copy the other class's qualities, which is fine (I'll be adding my own teaching style but follow the same curriculum). I have been observing the other teacher and there are many things I like. There is one thing I am concerned about, and that is the lack of literacy in the class. At my last preschool I used the morning message method on a chart, however this preschool class does not use any visual literacy at all. They only practice reading the month of the year, and that is it. No word wall. No read-alouds/questioning. I've been told that the 3-4 year olds are too young for a morning message and a word wall. At the next level up the children are expected to know how to write (but not read, it seems). I guess you could say I'm confused as well as concerned. I would really like to include visual literacy in my class. My boss's concern is that if my room isn't like the other room, parents will pull their children out (she's a very nice person, just very worried, which is understandable). Any advice for what you would do in this situation? thanks!

3. EDUK8_ME

EDUK8_ME Cohort

Apr 19, 2012

You could incorporate "literacy" into other curriculum areas such as:
    Art-have students draw pictures and you write down their descriptions of their picture.
    Science-do a simple experiment and write down their hypothesis.
    Group Time- write down the words and/or use simple pictures to favorite songs the class likes to sing. For the "ABC" song, write out the alphabet and point to the letters as you sing.
    Transitions-write the students names on a card first name on one side and last name on the other. Use the cards to dismiss children to line up at the door or sit at the table...