Listening and behavior in kindergarten

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Newkindermom, Nov 21, 2015.

1. Newkindermom

Newkindermom Rookie

Nov 21, 2015

Hi everyone,

I am in my second year of teaching kindergarten and am getting concerned about my classroom management/behavior once again.

I have had several aides (who come to help a student with disabilities) comment on the behaviors in my classroom. I honestly did not think the students' behavior was that bad this year compared to last year.

I wondered what was typical, if some other early childhood teachers could comment?
    I have a problem this year with several students that are hitting and some not completing work. I also have a problem with students not always listening while I'm teaching. I get pencil tapping, talking to a neighbor, fidgeting, laying down on rug/wiggling, touching neighbors.. If I can redirect quietly I do, otherwise I give student a consequence.
    As a K teacher, would you honestly expect 20+ students to be perfectly still/silent for a 10-20 minute period (depending on subject?)
    Also, when completing class work would you expect 5 and 6 year olds to be silent/whispering? I personally don't see anything wrong with a little talking so long as they are completing work and using an appropriate voice level.
    I just wondered are my expectations too low?? If these aides are going in and out of other rooms, perhaps they see the behavior in my room as much worse? I wouldn't know as I have only been in one kindergarten room, mine!
    Please give me examples of how your students listen and do their work, it would be so helpful and appreciated!!

3. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Nov 21, 2015