List of nice things to tell a student? Good job! Excellent! Way to go!...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Maestra Ita, Jul 29, 2008.

1. Maestra Ita

Maestra Ita Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

Hi, I will be teaching English in Puerto Rico, this is my first year and I am learning English my self.... It's not easy, so I was wondering if anyone has a list of nice things to tell the students when they do a good job. Just to write on there notebooks, or just to tell them... Thank you! You have any other advise, like phrase of the day to put on the board........ Please help!

3. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Jul 29, 2008

4. Maestra Ita

Maestra Ita Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

I was hoping that you answer my question, you are so good in helping others. I made my Homeworkopoly yesterday, thanks to you! This is just what I was looking for....

5. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

Jul 29, 2008

Thanks, jem!

6. MissAmy

MissAmy Companion

Jul 29, 2008

Thanks Jem!

7. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 29, 2008

I used to have that poster that said, 100 Ways to Praise a Child. That gave some good ones.

8. seemoreglass

seemoreglass Rookie

Jul 31, 2008

I don't want to be a downer or anything, but you should avoid generic praise. Saying good job, or excellent, or wonderful all the time is nice, but not very effective.

For example, in math, instead of saying "good job" you may want to say something like "I really like the way you showed all your work." Try to be as specific as possible.

This does a better job reinforcing the behavior you're looking for.

9. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

Jul 31, 2008

I'd add that some research seems to suggest it's much better to praise for the amount of effort put into something rather than the actual end product.

You know, part of the stand-up act "What do you make?" response: "I can make an A- seem like a slap in the face and a C+ seem like the Congressional Medal of Honor"

10. seemoreglass

seemoreglass Rookie

Jul 31, 2008