Liking Where You Work

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ella_Ivory, Oct 14, 2015.

1. Ella_Ivory

Ella_Ivory Rookie

Oct 14, 2015

Hi All -

This is the first post that I have written on the A to Z teacher forum but I have read quite a few posts in the past. Some of these forum posts have gotten me through some tricky interview questions and resolving some challenging behaviors in the classroom. Therefore, now that I am facing this new challenge and I have researched numerous sites and have found little to no helpful information I figured I would pose the question to the people on this site that have unknowingly helped me in the past. I am currently in my fourth year teaching and I currently teach first grade at a title I school in Phoenix, AZ. I hold a master's degree in education and I am certified to teach K-12th (specifically 6-12th grade English) and I also hold a special education certification. A lot of the issues that I have faced recently come back to money, since I am a single 29 year old with a significant amount of student loan debt. After looking up how Arizona compares to the other states I discovered that we are ranked #49th in almost all categories. We are even ranked very low in terms of cost of living and salary. I personally think that a lot of my stress doesn't necessarily come from the classroom or the community but instead comes from simply not being able to afford to live. At the end of this school year I am interested in relocating. So after all that rambling I was just curious if anyone lives and/or works in a area where teachers are treated with respect and paid decent wages that one could afford to work near the school that they teach at? I hear so much bad press about teachers disliking their school and/or district I was just wondering if anyone enjoys where they work?

3. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Oct 14, 2015