Likeliness of getting an interview?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by reddies88, May 14, 2012.

1. reddies88

reddies88 Rookie

May 14, 2012

Hello all! I need some advice.. I graduated 2 years ago with a Bachelors of Science in Bio & Chem and have been working lab jobs for 2 years. I realized that teaching is what I want to do. I am enrolled in an Alt Cert program in Texas and have completed all pre-service requirements. I passed my Texes test for Composite Science 8-12. I have no formal teaching experience, just tutored for 4 years in college. There are so many composite science positions open right now, and I've applied to all but have not received any calls yet. Do school districts typically interview even with no teaching experience? I just want y'alls opinion on the likeliness for me receiving an Interview call or advice on how to make my application more appealing? Thanks!!

PS. I have a full time job now, and so I can't substitute or aide, as I need a way to pay the bills :)

3. Alisha

Alisha Cohort

May 14, 2012

Yes, school districts will interview teachers with no experience. Otherwise there'd never be any first year teachers ;).

What have you done in addition to just sending in an application/resume? If the answer is nothing, the likelihood of getting an interview is very small, to be honest with you. You should email or call principals. Drop in to personally hand in your credentials at all schools within driving distance. When I was applying, I sent a brochure about myself as an educator in with all my application packets.

Good luck, I know how difficult the job search can be, especially that first year before any "real" experience. Don't worry about no phone calls yet, either. I've never been hired before mid-July.

4. reddies88

reddies88 Rookie

May 14, 2012