Like a ton of bricks

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by monsieurteacher, Aug 28, 2009.

1. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Aug 28, 2009

It hit me like a ton of bricks last night that the teachers in our district go back on Monday. This is their last day of vacation...

I've felt rather confident that I would get something... I've been teaching for nearly 2 years, and I was just at the bottom of the totem pole at both schools I worked at this past year... In my two years, I've made some strong relationships with my principals, and I know that they would give me good references. Everyone I taught with told me "you'll get something"... I have had more professional development than the average second year teacher. All of my reviews have been excellent. Yes, I felt like my resume was strong and that I would be getting a call to teach something... anything.

Nothing. I'm still awaiting that call. It REALLY got to me last night as I lay in bed. I realized that today is the last day of vacation. Once Monday rolls around, I'm unemployed. I continue to read on Facebook teachers complaining about having to go back. It hurts. I know that it's just part of the beginning of the year, that teachers often miss the idea of being on vacation, not that these teachers really don't like their job, but it still bothers me. I would be more than happy to take that job!

My last hope is a grade four position... it's the only English job that has been posted (there was a French teaching position and a few middle school music teaching positions, none of which I'm qualified to teach) and it doesn't close until Monday... which means that I wouldn't be in to my new classroom until partway through the first week for teachers.

3. McKennaL

McKennaL Groupie

Aug 28, 2009

I am right there with you in your comments. School started here this week...and I HAVE (like you mentioned) changed my prespective of myself from job hunter... to unemployed.