Letter to Parents( please critique)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by curtukgrl, Sep 16, 2009.

1. curtukgrl

curtukgrl Rookie

Sep 16, 2009

I have just written a letter to the parents of my students. Could you please read and tell me what you think...

September 16, 2009

Welcome Parents and Students, To…
    Mrs. Teacher's 3rd/4th Grade Reading class.
    My name is Mrs. Teacher. I graduated from My University in May of 2009 with a Bachelors of Science in Elementary Education, with a concentration in English. I have been involved in the learning process of students for a number of years prior to my degree. I started off by volunteering in the School District A system and from there obtain my certification to become a substitute teacher. I have substituted in School District A and for the past 3 years with the School District B. I am married and have 4 children of my own; two boys 9 and 15 and two girls 10 and 18.
    My goals for this school year are to be the best role model within the school system I can possibly be for your children. I will be working with your child to help sharpen their reading and comprehension skills. As well as build their fluency and phonemic awareness.
    Reading is an extremely important value to posses in our society. I expect for all of my students to be able to grow in their reading and comprehension throughout the school year. And to achieve the highest possible score they can on their testing and come to find their imaginations through reading, writing and interaction with one another.
    I will be happy to discuss any questions you may have for me throughout the year. I hope that we can work together as a team to help your child receive their full potential. I can be reached by phone at Phone # here or email email address here
    I truly look forward to have this time with your children; I thank you for your support in advance.

Thank You,

Mrs. Teacher