Lets post our favorite first week of school activity!!!!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Teacher13, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Teacher13

Teacher13 Rookie

Aug 28, 2006

Mine is the reading the book Ms. Bindergarten gets ready for Kindergarten. Then the kids make a class book titled "Mrs. _________'s Class gets ready for Kindergarten". I give each child a photo copy of the page:

_____(name)_____ gets ready for kindergarten by ____________.

My aid and I go around and write in the black what the kids did to get ready (got dressed, packed my packback, bought school supplies, brushed my hair . . .). They they draw a picture of what we wrote for them and we bind the book.

3. MissB

MissB Companion

Aug 28, 2006

What a great idea! I can't wait to see what others post. I am a new kindergarten teacher. I just got hired today and have my first teacher day tomorrow! I need all the ideas I can get!

4. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Aug 29, 2006

Mine was the tornado we had the first day of school, in a new building. ;) JK
    I like to read a bunch of different beginning of the year books, like "First Day Jitters". I also like to read a book about whatever special we go to that day. Say we go to the Library today, then I read "Arthur's trip to the Library" (or whatever it's real title is).

5. Teacher13

Teacher13 Rookie

Aug 30, 2006

I like the special book idea!! Do you have one for all specials!! That great since kindergartens dont really know what a "Special" is!

6. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Aug 30, 2006

I do have one for all the specials (P.E, Computer Lab, Music, Library, and Art). I even have one for recess (since we as teachers consider that time really special ;) ). I can't remember the titles at the moment (several of them are Arthur books, and one is a Tomie dePalola book) since I have them in different boxes. We've moved into a new building and I haven't found them all yet.

7. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Aug 30, 2006