Lesson plans

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by ohteach, Aug 15, 2005.

1. ohteach

ohteach Companion

Aug 15, 2005

I am a first yeat teacher who just signed the contract last week. I will be teaching first grade and I am VERY overwhelmed. I am the only first grade teacher with a class of 12 so far. I am horribale about planning lessons too far in advance. I find if I do that I never stick to them anyway because I find a better idea or I get stuck on a concept for longer then I thought I would. Being that it is my first year and I have a lot on my plate I want to make sure I use my time wisely. How far in advance should I try and plan? I don't want to make it look like I am not planning anything, would maybe 3-4 weeks at a time be sufficent?

3. nascarkat

nascarkat Guest

Aug 15, 2005

I teach 2nd grade and I try to plan one week ahead. I use our district curriculum guide to do some long-term planning, but I find that I get off schedule if I try to plan too far out. I do my plans on the computer so that I have a general idea of what I'm doing from year to year. I can cut and paste from year to year. Works out good for me! :)

4. TeacherRW

TeacherRW Cohort

Aug 15, 2005

When I do my planning, I roughly outline where I would like to be in, let's say, a month. This long range plan allows me to "see the light at the end of the tunnel". As for the real planning as in day-to-day planning, I try to have a "plan of attack" only to include the upcoming week. On Fridays before I leave school, I have my lesson plans done for the next week. If I don't cover something one day, I will get it the next day. My lesson plans for the week are compiled on one regular-sized sheet of paper. In this way, I can see at a glance what should be covered.