Lesson Plans

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Jan 3, 2010.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Jan 3, 2010

Can we talk lesson plans?

I'm a new pre-k teacher in an elementary school. I was in a Head Start last year and we had a 2-page planning sheet we were supposed to use to plan for the month. Now that I'm in a public school, I'm using one page for each day of the week and I always include a weekly schedule with the daily pages. My principal came to evaluate me and said this was not enough detail in the lesson plans. I basically outline step-by-step my two circle times (down to the books and songs we'll do) and then write down a basic idea for what we will do in small groups (i.e., Teacher: Practice writing names with students in small groups; Assistant: Make snowman craft by tearing paper and cutting out circles with students in small groups)

My principal complained that I only wrote down things about the circle times and the small group times. Well? That's the only times I actively plan for. We have breakfast, lunch, an hour of outside time (required by our license), nap, snack, bathroom and transition times. I just wondering, what am I doing wrong? Do you write down plans for other times or do you do more activities that you write down? I'm going to start writing more detail for my small groups, but I'm still not sure what she wants. I guess I could ask her, but I don't want to look like I don't know what I'm doing. Help? :confused:

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jan 3, 2010

When I taught pre-K we had to list activities in each center and how they met state standards. This was very basic and simple. For example:

Art:
    Materials: easel, red paint, yellow paint
    Activities: students paint with brush or fingers to create orange items. Teacher/para will label object in painting.
    Standards: 1,3

Creative play:
    Materials: community helper costumes