Lesson Planning: Do you actively look for clips from TV shows and movies?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by adeeb, Sep 30, 2015.

1. adeeb

adeeb Rookie

Sep 30, 2015

Hi all,

I'm back from a busy few months. *phew*

I'm looking more into lesson planning and wanted to learn about your experience with clips from popular TV shows and movies (The Office, The Big Bang Theory, SpongeBob, Despicable Me, etc.). Do you actively look for videos from these sources, or are they just nice to have? How difficult is it for you to find educational clips from TV shows and movies? If it is difficult, how valuable would it be if you could find these clips in an easier fashion?

I feel that clips from TV shows and movies may be underutilized resources in teaching and engaging students. When I was a student (which was somewhat recently), not many of my teachers used content from those sources; however, I always loved it whenever they did.

I've spoken to a few teachers about this topic and wanted to get some more thoughts on it. I'm looking forward to an insightful discussion!

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Sep 30, 2015

I don't look for clips from TV shows, I don't find them relevant for my content. If I was teaching science, I'm sure I would have fun with showing Big Bang Theory, but not with English.

I however scout Youtube all the time and find tons of clips that are exactly what I need.

4. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Sep 30, 2015

I find songs and short videos on YouTube. I don't watch enough tv to see things I want to use in class. I'm happy with the things I find.

5. creativemonster

creativemonster Comrade

Sep 30, 2015

If I am planning a unit on a specific topic I will google that topic to see what videos come up.

6. jw12

jw12 Rookie

Sep 30, 2015