Lesson plan format

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Guest, Aug 13, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 13, 2002

I was just curious what formats other teachers are required to use in their school districts. I have been teaching in my school for 4 years. We are required to write out lengthy lesson plans and are not allowed to use the standard "lesson plan books" that the rest of the teaching world uses. My principal does not feel that the "boxes" are adequate planning and requires us to write out detailed paragraphs for each subject each day. I just find this a little ridiculous, especially since the plans are for the teacher to use. I think a teacher should be able to use whateve format best fits her/him, as long as they are doing their planning and preparation. I was just curious what others thought about this.

3. Amanda

Amanda Administrator Staff Member

Aug 13, 2002

I feel bad for you :(

I had to turn in my lesson plans last year, and we were required to write the Objective, Activity, and Assessment. I thought that was bad. I know this may sound strange, but I spent so much time getting things in writing for the whole week that I wasn't as able to be creative and think about what I was teaching. The principal may have thought it would help to require the extra work, but I feel like it hurt my teaching. I think it may depend on the person. My thoughts are very organized and I am able to teach well without writing everything out in detail. Other people may have to write something down in order to think it through properly. Luckily, I switched schools and don't have to turn my lesson plans in any more. I will be using Scholastic's big lesson plan book.. it has big boxes to fill in activities, but I'll be using it for my benefit this year. The only thing required by the administrator is a year-long plan with objectives we plan to teach each month for each subject. :)