Leaving teaching for new job?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by cateachergal, Feb 26, 2008.

1. cateachergal

cateachergal Rookie

Feb 26, 2008

I am a first-year middle school teacher in my mid-twenties. I have four different classes to prep for, little support, and am totally overwhelmed. I also commute a total of 100 miles each day. The principal isn't happy with me, and I am 95% sure I will not be asked back next year. I was provided with a plan for growth, but feel like I just can't "get" it. Things are getting progressively worse, as opposed to better.

I absolutely hated both of my student teaching experiences, and very much considered not looking for a teaching job. But I thought I should give it another chance, and now completely regret it. I know that any job requires a learning curve and stress, but it also requires passion, which I just don't have. I am passionate about my subject matter, and I am passionate about education in theory, but I just don't think teaching is my thing. I have many talents in life, but this isn't one of them. I get physically ill on Sunday nights in anticipation of the upcoming work week. I had to leave early today because I just couldn't take it.

Anyway, enough complaining! I was informally offered a position at a place where I temped before going back to school for my credential. Nothing's written in stone, but it looks like a potentially great opportunity in a field that I'm interested in pursuing. However, it would require me to leave before the end of the school year. I feel incredibly guilty about the prospect of leaving my students, and am unsure as to what decision I should make. I am worried that if I wait until the end of the year, the position will be swept up and I will be unable to find something suitable, especially with a less than wonderful economy out there.