Leaving mid-year for mental health: How will my resume be affected?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by cheezewhiz17, Feb 2, 2020.

1. cheezewhiz17

cheezewhiz17 New Member

Feb 2, 2020

This is my first year teaching and I'm beyond in over my head. I took a job in an urban rust belt school (completely different demographic than what I grew up in) because I did my student teaching in the district and thought I could handle it, but here I am halfway through the year still crying in the bathroom. My education background is pretty solid: BA in elementary education, and MA in environmental education (largely informal). My current position is a traditional gen ed elementary job. I got a job offer last week for an informal education job doing environmental outreach work, and even though it's a pay cut, I'm extremely tempted to take it.