Leave Position Question/Dilemma

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by newteacher1005, Jul 3, 2007.

1. newteacher1005

newteacher1005 New Member

Jul 3, 2007

Hi all.

I just have a question regarding a semester-long leave position dilemma, and I am very lost.

Basically, I am a new secondary English teacher in a fairly crowded state. However, I am willing to relocate just about anywhere, and flexible about the positions I'm considering.

I've been looking for a job for a little less than a month now (I, perhaps foolishly, started looking in the state I happen to be in right now). Three interviews, but no luck yet. However, I have started to get (sometimes unsolicited) calls about interviews for semester to year long leave positions in this state...I guess they are in need of individuals to fill these here.

My issues:

1. I have been moving around a bit, from undergraduate to graduate school, etc., and I would really like to settle in one place for a while. I am in about as safe a position now as I will ever be, financially. I don't need to worry about money, as I have various relatives to stay with while I search. I'm up for relocation nearly anywhere in the country for a permanent position. Therefore, I was planning to just fill the next few months with full-time job searching.

2. For some of these leave positions, I would have to relocate quickly to a very expensive area. My concern is that it appears that leave positions often do not lead to further work at a school. If I took a semester-long position that didn't lead to anything else at a school, I am worried that I wouldn't be able to live on my own in this expensive area on a day-to-day substitute teacher's salary (and then I would be stuck with a year-long lease).