Lawyer to teacher?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by dc714, May 15, 2008.

1. dc714

dc714 New Member

May 15, 2008

I'm new to this forum so apologies if this topic has already been covered. I'm a bit of a walking cliche but I'm a 31-year old lawyer who is seriously thinking about becoming a teacher. Ideally, I'd love to teach history or poli-sci at the high school level. I received my college and law degrees from ivy league schools. But the forums I've read have repeatedly stated that history teachers are "a dime a dozen" and hence those positions are extremely competitive. Does having a law degree provides any kind of advantage in competing for high school social studies teaching positions?

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

May 15, 2008

Welcome to A to Z, dc714.

This may not be quite the answer you were looking for, but here's a way to consider making yourself marketable: Offer yourself as someone with skills in analysis, synthesis, critical thinking and reading, and test taking. The last of these could be a big selling point, given the annual tests and the CAHSEE exit exam.

4. newbie1234

newbie1234 Companion

May 15, 2008

dc714,
    It depends entirely on the principal. Some principals will value your credentials, and some won't. My mother has an Ivy League education, and there were several principals who hadn't heard of her alma mater. Others were really impressed. Some principals were impressed by my law degree while others didn't care. I had better luck interviewing with high-needs schools, which I think just needed warm bodies, and schools on the other end of the spectrum that emphasized high academic rigor than the schools that were kind of in the middle.