LAUSD Sub. Question

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by mrsub, Aug 28, 2015.

1. mrsub

mrsub New Member

Aug 28, 2015

Hi Everyone!!!

I am so glad i found this online resource. Hopefully, you can help me answer some questions about lausd.

I am a recent graduate and am interested in being a substitute teacher for LAUSD.

I am going to take the CBEST in 2 - 3 weeks.
    I do not have a credential but I did read that LAUSD hires people without them sometimes.

So my plan is:
    Take the CBEST
    Apply to LAUSD, Burbank and Compton Unified.
    Hopefully, teach 3 to 4 days a week.

Hopefully, I am not sounding naive about my plan, so I would like to know how realistic it is to take the CBEST, get hired and work as a sub. How long should I wait to actually work on the job?

thank you so much!

-G

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 28, 2015

If you haven't done so, check the district Web sites to see whether they do indeed accept substitute teachers who neither have nor are in the process of getting a credential. Districts can and do differ on this. The county office of education might also have useful advice for you.

4. Ms.Blank

Ms.Blank Companion

Aug 31, 2015

Once you take CBEST, you should be filing paperwork to get your 30 day emergency sub permit :)

5. TeacherWhoRuns

TeacherWhoRuns Companion

Sep 10, 2015

I'm not sure about those particular districts, but I subbed in Southern CA for several years. A larger district like LAUSD will probably have open sub jobs every day if you're not choosy about schools and/or grades.