Laundry detergent

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by mrs100, Mar 22, 2008.

1. mrs100

mrs100 Comrade

Mar 22, 2008

What do you use? My whites are not white after just a few washes, and my colors fade sooo fast on everything else. I'm far from an expert on laundry, but the detergent I use ( ALL concentrate) is not working! What's the best for getting whites to be bright and to keep colors vibrant?

3. Amers

Amers Cohort

Mar 22, 2008

I have always used Tide, but for the last year I've been using Tide Coldwater. I like it. I am trying Purex Concentrate this time since it's cheaper. I haven't decided if I like it as much yet.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Mar 22, 2008

Do you use bleach in your white load?

Try adding some borax...Borax is best known as a laundry booster; it helps soften hard water to leave your clothes cleaner and brighter.

5. glenn

glenn Rookie

Mar 22, 2008

I use Charlie’s soap. It is amazing how great it works on all colors including whites. It is really concentrated you only need one tablespoon per wash.

http://www.charliesoap.com/

6. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 22, 2008

I use Tide for front load washers. I put bleach in with my whites (sock, tshirts and undies). I like the unscented stuff.

7. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Mar 22, 2008

I like Gain original fresh scent and Tide. I use cheaper brands on things like jeans.

8. Steph-ernie

Steph-ernie Groupie

Mar 22, 2008

I use Purex since it is usually the cheapest.

9. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Mar 22, 2008

We use Tide with bleach. For white loads, we also add a scoop of Oxyclean.

10. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Mar 22, 2008

I like Era, and All if it is on sale.

What is really annoying me right now is the 2x concentrated stuff. I don't like this, but my grocery stores are now ONLY carrying this stuff. I don't like it! I want my regular stuff back!

11. JustT

JustT Comrade

Mar 22, 2008