Lattice mulitiplication Vs. Traditional multiplication algorithm

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Green_eyed_gal, May 31, 2008.

1. Green_eyed_gal

Green_eyed_gal Comrade

May 31, 2008

I've been doing some research on lattice multiplication... I thought it was a cool way of doing multiplication, but I was trying to find more information about it... I didn't want to teach my kids something that I wasn't informed about.

Well, while looking through Youtube I came across this video http://youtube.com/watch?v=Tr1qee-bTZI&feature=related

I'm a new teacher and I want to do what is best for the kids.. Our school uses Scott Foresman Mathematics and we have TERC as supplemental material. I've never used TERC so I brought home some stuff to look over during the summer.

I was excited about finding lattice multiplication because double digit multiplication is a tough concept for a lot of kids. Well, after viewing the video above I'm not so sure anymore. I think that teaching the traditional algorithm is the only way to go even if I have to spend more time having the kids practice.

I'm just curious about other teacher's views on this.. Would it still be ok to teach the lattice method after the kids have mastered the traditional algorithm?

3. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

May 31, 2008

Lattice is kinda hard for me to follow. I tried it a few times with some of my struggling 4th graders when I student taught last year. I use Investigations (TERC) math as my main math program. Therefore, I'm all about letting the kids use the strategies that are best for them.

For two digit multplication, a lot of my kids perfer repeated addition. A lot of them like to break it up, for example:
    32x6
    We break up 32 into 30 and 2. Then they multiply 30 x 6 and 2 x6.
    30x6=180
    2x6=12
    180+12=192
    so 32x6=192.