Last straw

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Anonymous Barbie, Aug 4, 2019.

?

Should I quit my job without the prospect of a higher paying job immediately?

1. Yes

4 vote(s)
    80.0%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  3. Other (comments)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Anonymous Barbie

Anonymous Barbie Rookie

Aug 4, 2019

Hi there. This is a long one, but I am in crisis mode, and I would so appreciate some thoughts.

Some background before I get into the thick of it: I have a Master's in Education, and taught a core subject for 3 years in another state before relocating for my husband's job. We moved from a very suburban place where jobs in my subject were fairly easy to come by, to a place where I have only seen one position in my subject open up in the last 3 years. I was up for that position 2 years ago, and did not get that job. (I suspect because I am not a coach, they went with someone who could coach.)

I had worked for a year in this school district subbing, making fairly decent pay for a sub. I was highly sought after as a sub, and was never hurting for assignments. Maybe that also contributed to why they hired another candidate? I've heard it can happen.

After that opportunity was lost, I found a position at another "school". It's not a public school, or even a parochial school, but a non-profit school that teaches natural resources classes to visiting schools. I am actually the only certified teacher there. Basically it's a field trip destination, but one that is nationally accredited.