LARGE (rowdy) classes/ small classroom

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by smtownEngteach, Aug 27, 2011.

1. smtownEngteach

smtownEngteach Rookie

Aug 27, 2011

I'm a first year teacher and just finished up my first week of teaching. I'm concerned about my two afternoon classes of 8th grade students. Both of theses classes are large (one has 31 students and the other has 28) and they are also both very rowdy (obnoxiously so). I also have a very small classroom, which only further compounds the problem. I have heard that their ELA teacher from last year kind of let them get away with just about anything (including letting the girls bring curling irons in the classroom to do their hair) Anyway, I have established the rules, I have bell work, but I sorta feel like I am treading water and that I spend most of the class period correcting behaviors and raising my voice. I'm hoping that if I stay firm that the behavior will improve, but I hate spending so much of the class period raising my voice and getting on to them...any suggestions?

3. Milsey

Milsey Habitué

Aug 27, 2011

Feel your pain. My afternoon class was my most difficult last year.
    Have you tried calling homes? Just call a few parents and word will spread.
    Shouting sends a message that you are not in control and they will continue to test you.
    Have clearly established routines.
    Follow through with those 5 or 6 worst offenders. Make an example of them. The others are watching to see how you deal with them, and if you let them off the hook as I did, the rest of the class will become unmanageable and no learning will occur.
    I know it's hard, but good luck.

4. smtownEngteach

smtownEngteach Rookie

Aug 27, 2011