Landed job out of state but can't afford to move!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by katfzl, Jul 10, 2011.

1. katfzl

katfzl Rookie

Jul 10, 2011

Very upset today. I'm a new teacher and I landed a job out of state, but I'm married with 3 kids, and since I haven't been working we have NO money saved. Now we're not sure we can afford the move to the new state! We would be making 6 figures between the two of us, but we can't get there. I never thought this would be possible.

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jul 10, 2011

Can you take out a loan to cover moving expenses? Or maybe borrow money from family?

4. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Jul 10, 2011

ok, relax. Take stock of what you have. Do you have any liquid assets that you could safely sell? Any family or friends that can help you out? Perhaps a short term loan (stay away from those paycheck places though!) Would it be an option for either you or your spouse to move first?

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Jul 10, 2011

I agree with kc--check your assets and check with the bank to see if you will qualify for a line of credit.. When I first moved here, everything I owned was in storage. I bought an air mattress and slept and sat on that for almost 3 months until I could afford to move my things out of storage. I didn't even have a car for 1.5 months. My assistant principal found someone who lived a few minutes away from me to drive me to school (I paid for gas). My assistant or principal drove me home (I took the bus a few times too).

6. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jul 10, 2011

I managed to move from Atlanta, GA to Fargo, ND for less than $1000. I did have one advantage most don't, and that is a relative that owns an RV and a trailer and has the ability to drive the RV while towing the trailer.

I paid for gas and food. The food was purchased at grocery stores not at restaurants. We stayed in truck stops instead of hotels.

If you're creative, you can figure out a way.

7. kimrandy1