Lamar University Online master's program?????????

Discussion in 'General Education' started by skittleroo, Sep 27, 2009.

1. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Sep 27, 2009

Anyone in Texas did this?? I already have a masters, but would like to get another one. This online program is through a regular university and taught by regular faculty members. It is $4950 to get masters in 18 months. I am interested in this.

Anyone have experience with this program or Lamar U???
    thanks
    jeannie

3. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Sep 27, 2009

That's pretty cheap for a masters! What program are you looking into?

I have not gone to Lamar U, but I did a masters program that was mostly online-I have taken 3 of my classes in person. I would either call or email one of the professors. I did that before I picked a college for my masters and they were really helpful.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 27, 2009

I have a friend that just finished her portfolio and she's loved it. I have a coworker who is currently going through it and will finish next year. She likes it so far.

5. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Sep 27, 2009

thanks - I know alot of teachers that are going through it. I just wonder how employer view degrees from online.

are their degrees credible??? I mean I know the university is but what do employers think about someone who gets an online degree from there? Is it considered just as rigiorous? I know the university says it is. I was just wondering what employers think...

6. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Sep 27, 2009

I have a M.Ed in Reading and would like to pursue a M.Ed in Admin.

Actually I'd love to get a doctorate and do research and eventually work at the unversity level some day. My problem is the closest unversity is the one I received by bachelor and masters from. So, I would need to go to a different university for a doctorate - and the others are too far away.

7. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous