Lackluster Benchmark Performance

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Intervention, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Intervention

Intervention Rookie

Feb 7, 2008

This is my first year and I have what can be considered to be a "Challenging" class. All are low academically, the highest score being a 75% to 77% on the Language Arts benchmark test. They are good word callers but have little comprehension of what they "read." They had an "Essential Question" that had to be answered before they could leave for recess. They were to answer a question with a complete sentence, pulling information from the text. Many were unable to do so within 10 minutes - even with clues regarding where on the page they should look. Several of them just sit there hoping that the answer will be fed to them. Notes are going home tomorrow regarding test results and behavior to be signed by their parent(s) or custodial adult(s) and returned.

Question: How can you get kids to think when their main concern is getting through what they consider to be an annoyance?

3. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Feb 7, 2008

Consider: 1) They really don't know how to "read to find out" and/or write a complete answer 2) They know how to do #1 but the "Why should I?" in this case recess is not a compelling incentive that far outweighs just sitting

4. Intervention

Intervention Rookie

Feb 10, 2008

We spent several LA periods learning how to take notes. Refreshing their minds on where to find the topic of a paragraph and where the supporting details are. They started out poorly but improved after several days. They are now required to justify any answer they mark down.

5. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Feb 10, 2008

So.. this is a work ethic issue? Do they start then stop, fall off-task or not even attempt to head paper, begin?

6. Intervention

Intervention Rookie

Feb 12, 2008

Yes. There are work ethic considerations as well as staying on task issues. Lack of support from home is another consideration.