Kindergarten... zoo!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by kinderlady7, Apr 27, 2021.

1. kinderlady7

kinderlady7 New Member

Apr 27, 2021

There are some days where I feel like my classroom is actually a zoo.

I am a second year teacher and I have devoted so much of my time the second half of the school year to behavior management. As we returned in person, I gained 6 new students in January, 2 of whom have severe behavioral difficulties. Within 2 weeks, I had asked my admin for guidance to which I received none. Literally none. The coach never came when she said she would. She eventually showed and said she would help, did for a week, then did not come back.

Here is what I'm working with. Title 1 school, 17 littles who all need me all the time. One who has anger issues, extreme defiance of (all) authority figures, and refuses to complete any type of work without an immediate reward. Another who is constantly putting down other students, then scream crying when someone responds back to her in any kind of unkind way. A third student who screams and cries any time I speak to them or do not speak to them... yelling when redirected but also yelling if I do not respond to his need right away. All three of these students constantly hold up our learning times with talking, playing, touching, yelling out, etc. And then 14 others who are learning from their behavior that probably looks way more fun. Of course, I feel for my challenging three because I know that they are struggling so much, but this is also way out of hand.