Kindergarten readiness?? - LONG

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teach24iam, Jul 8, 2008.

1. teach24iam

teach24iam Comrade

Jul 8, 2008

Ok, so I am confused...I work as a manager in a pre-school, but have also worked as a kindergarten teacher, pre-school teacher, student taught in elementary school all over. Anyway..now that I am a pre-school manager, I work with children getting ready to go to Kindergarten, so basically 4 and 5 year olds, and their parents. Recently, 2 of our students were told: "you are not ready for kindergarten, you need more work." Now, I really have 2 major issues with this, and many smaller ones...First...In Pennsylvania..Kindergarten is not mandatory, so telling a child they are not ready, is truly meaningless, considering, by law they do not even have to go. Anyway, that beside the point...2nd...HOW possibly could someone not be ready for Kindergarten? I know now a days, MOST, but definitely not ALL children go to pre-school, so telling a parent there child is not ready according to their "policy" is absurd. There is a school district that has guidelines for INCOMING kindergarten children that state (among many others): children must be able to tie their shoes, color within the lines, be able to cut perfectly on a line in any shape, write their name in correct Upper/Lower case manner, and many, many other absurd things. Excuse me......what exactly are they learning in kindergarten now? Algebra? It is absurd to assume that a child did or did not go to Kindergarten, let alone assume their parents worked with them on these things at home! As a previous kindergarten teacher, I spent my days teaching shoe tieing, cutting, writing, letter recognition and the such, and I LOVED IT. Never assumed and knew most of my kids did not know those skills....This is absurd and crazy to have such expectations of 4 1/2 - 5 year olds..........Education is getting out of control and unrealistic! Sorry so long...just very very frustrating..