Kindergarten Math

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by teacherhoosier, Sep 9, 2010.

1. teacherhoosier

teacherhoosier Companion

Sep 9, 2010

Kindergarten teachers, what types of things do you use to teach math? My school district has a balanced literacy program, and I work closely with our literacy coordinator since I am just learning about the framework, but math is a wide open area. Does your district use a math program/book? My school district does have a math book, but all of the kindergarten teachers I've talked to don't use them. I have been working on 1-1 matching, shape recognition, and sorting and classifying with a lot of different activities-but I'm not sure where to go next. Any ideas or suggestions on working with these topics???

3. starbucks

starbucks Comrade

Sep 9, 2010

We use the "Everyday Math" program. It has a spiraling curriculum. We use tons of manipulatives (teddy bear counters, unifex cubes, cards, money, calculators, balance scales, sand, dice, pattern blocks, etc.... I could go on and on). We do a 15 - 20 minute math board in the morning (calendar). We do alot of ongoing activiites during this time such as tally marks, graphing, temperature recording, days of school, patterning etc... We work on counting ALOT. Right now its by ones, but we will count by 10's, 5's and 2's by the end of the year.

Later in the day we have a regular math lesson. Because it is a spiraling curriculum we don't stay on one topic long, but we will come back to the concepts several times during the year. I also will add some of these topics to my morning math board for extra practice (such as money, daily addtion/subtraction problem etc...)
    I also have a math center the kids can visit for extra practice too.