Kindergarten Handwriting

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Unregistered, Aug 28, 2003.

1. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Aug 28, 2003

Just how fast should a kindergarten teacher go with teaching handwriting to kindergarten? This is my first year to teach K and some of my students do well with this, while others don't know how to hold a pencil. The other teacher jumped right in and started having them to write on line paper. How can they do this if they don't know how to form letters at all? Any advice would be wonderful! Thanks

3. Seich30

Seich30 Comrade

Aug 28, 2003

I don't think it is appropriate for them to write on lined paper to begin with, they need to focus on forming the letters correctly first. I would train proper grip and capital first letter--rest lowercase with name to right from the start. They should be able to do lined paper by end of K, I would think.

4. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Aug 28, 2003

Thanks. I don't use the lined paper myself. I don't feel that they have developed the motor skills needed for it.

5. miss karen

miss karen Comrade

Aug 28, 2003

I usually have the students trace over dotted letters, make letters using play doh, form letters in sand, trace letters in the air,etc. Children will get frustated if they feel that they can't get the printing on lined paper right. Same with holding a pencil, try to practice as a group rather than pointing it out to a child who is trying to write, this can also lead to frustration.

Have fun! ;)

6. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Aug 28, 2003

We use highlighters to have them copy over.

7. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Aug 28, 2003