Kindergarten Centers: how long?

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by kinderblocks, Aug 12, 2005.

1. kinderblocks

kinderblocks Rookie

Aug 12, 2005

hi, I am a first year teacher and I am teaching kindergarten. I did not know how long the students would be able to stay at one center. I have noticed that other teachers schedule centers for one hour. Can the students stay at one center that long? Or should I rotate the students everyday to more than one center? What is the best way to manage centers?

3. teacher_99

teacher_99 Rookie

Aug 12, 2005

Hi there,
    This will be my 3rd year teaching kindergarten. I schedule everything for no more than a 1/2 hour. Their attention spans are still a little short, particularly at the beginning of the year. By the end of the year it can be increased, but I wouldn't go longer than 30 minutes. The old rule that 5 minutes x their age is a good estimate.

4. k bear

k bear Rookie

Aug 12, 2005

I use work jobs rather than centers and the students work on their "job" until they are finished. They have three jobs to do in the hour while I meet with small guided reading groups

5. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Aug 12, 2005

Yep- about 1/2 hour with a good 15 minutes included for clean up. I spend quite a bit of training the first few months of school. Behaviors that are acceptable/unacceptable. Noise levels, etc.

6. Teacheskidz

Teacheskidz Rookie

Aug 13, 2005

I do 20 minutes per center.

7. hojalata

hojalata Comrade

Aug 13, 2005

What kind of centes/work jobs do you have?

8. Margo

Margo Devotee

Aug 13, 2005

I try to have an hour center time but they rotate during that time to 3 different centers. This year, due to circumstanced beyond my control, I think I will have about a 40 minute center time with 2 rotations.

9. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Aug 13, 2005