Kindergarden Newbie?!

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by forbiddenpluto, Jul 20, 2006.

1. forbiddenpluto

forbiddenpluto Companion

Jul 20, 2006

Kindergarten Newbie?!

I had my first interview with a school today... things seemed to go pretty well. They even said that I must have been very good at my previous profession (theatre).

Not even an hour later they called back to offer me a position.

Now I had originally gone in there with the hopes of a 3rd grade position, but apparently they thought my personality would be much better suited to kindergarten. I am absolutely PETRIFIED!!!

I start training (Reading 1st?) on Monday... and my first day as a teacher is on the 28th... wow... This is all happening so quickly.
    care of.

I can't believe I'm a teacher... this is all so surreal.

Now what do I do?!?! I've been with high schoolers before... even middle... but kindergarten!? I'm baffled on what to do. What do I focus on? What do I need to buy for the classroom? What do I do period!? lol

And as a side note... in my previous job I wore jammies to work (loooong story). So I have to pretty much buy a new wardrobe. What should I buy? What should I stay away from?

I have SO many questions!!!

Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  3. 1st-yr-teacher

1st-yr-teacher Comrade

Jul 20, 2006

the most important thing i have learned in my kindergarten placements, especially my last one is to make sure have structure and procedures. I found that kindergartners and all children for that matter do well when knowing what when why and how...it makes them feel secure and safe so i say my best advice is to keep your routines and class procedures clear and consistant! good luck!!

4. Brenda S.

Brenda S. Comrade

Jul 20, 2006

I love kindergarten! Congratulations on the job.

As far as wardrobe, be as comfortable as your school will allow. Find out the dress code before you buy.