Kinder Class out of control HELP!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by XFruitloopsrusX, May 13, 2017.

1. XFruitloopsrusX

XFruitloopsrusX Rookie

May 13, 2017

I am a first-year teacher and this past couple of weeks have been a nightmare. Every time I am observed my students are completely out of control. My principal refuses to come observe early in the day and comes in unannounced for formal observation The principal has come in and taken over my class using call and responses that my students have never even heard. I have worked really hard with two extremely difficult students this year and have been hit more than once by a student and little to nothing is being done about it.

I have student unfocused and crawling around when I am trying to teach constant hitting despite numerous class meetings about touching, phone calls to parents, loss of privileges. The feedback I get from the principal is that I need to work on management but the principal does not discipline students I send with formal referrals and I am discouraged from writing them. I feel like the students who are referred know there is no consequences so the behavior continues. Calling home seems ineffective. What can I do to regain order next week.

My students also are completely wild when I am gone and I've received the blame for it.

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

May 14, 2017

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    Backroads likes this.
  4. Teachertimes

Teachertimes Rookie

May 14, 2017

First be kind to yourself. You need to make sure you are confident, firm, and consistent.

Try not to get upset or flustered, kids feed off of that. Stay calm try to correct as quietly as you can.

Tell your admin exactly what you need. Mine is super supportive and would never tolerate that type of behavior from students.

5. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

May 14, 2017