Kids Say The Darndest Things

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bshreff, Mar 19, 2010.

1. bshreff

bshreff Rookie

Mar 19, 2010

I am a Substitute Teacher in Florida, and I hear kids say some of the craziest, saddest, and just plain stupid things I've ever heard in my life. For example:

Boy 1: 'Hey what's that mountain with all the dude's heads on it?'

Boy 2: 'The one with the Presidents?'

Boy 1: 'Yeah. I bet they haven't even seen themselves up there!'

I'm not entirely sure if a statement like that should make me laugh at the ridiculousness or cry at the lack of education (especially since this was in a Senior level Language Arts class).

Anyways, I'm curious to know what other things people have over heard kids say in a class room.

P.S. I'm new here, so sorry if this is in the wrong place or similar to an older post.

3. Toak

Toak Cohort

Mar 21, 2010

We said things like that as jokes all the time in high school.

Can't think of any things we said in high school, but I do remember the first snow fall of senior year. It started in English class and everyone ran to the window. Our teacher, who was about 24 years old didn't understand why kids who had lived in northern Pennsylvania for 18 years would be that excited about snow

4. bshreff

bshreff Rookie

Mar 22, 2010

I wish these kids had been kidding...but not in some of the schools I'm in.

5. Samothrace

Samothrace Cohort

Mar 22, 2010

This didn't happen to me..but a teacher I work with. On Thursdays she eats lunch with her class in her room. So she's at her desk eating...the class is eating at their desks. Out of NOWHERE one of her first graders says..Ms. So and So, Were you breastfed? So her intial thought..do I laugh and how does someone respond to that. She simply said no. But then another first grader joined in the convo...I was. Another said..So was I. ::continues eating lunch::

Can we say....random?!

6. jday129

jday129 Comrade

Mar 22, 2010