Keeping the Weight off as a Teacher

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by gmer22, Jul 21, 2007.

1. gmer22

gmer22 Rookie

Jul 21, 2007

I have to get this off my chest of my brain is going to start playing tricks on me. So since I was in my teens I have had a deep obession with my weight, I have become a gym addict and no matter how much I loose I seem to not get enough. So my question is what suggestions do you have to manage my time to go to the gym and keep a good diet when the school year starts. I am a first time teacher and have no idea how long my school days will be and how to keep a good diet. HELP HELP HELP!!!

3. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Jul 21, 2007

Stay away from the hot lunches served at school. They are loaded with carbs and sugar. I don't go to the gym at all and pretty much ignore the fitness plan I always say I'll follow during the year, so I don't know how much help this will be, but I'd suggest getting a couple of fitness videos that you can do in about 30 minutes or so. That will save you drive time.

4. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Jul 21, 2007

I'm not good with weight myself, but one thing I have learned in teaching is this (esp if you are an elem teacher!): When the kids come in for birthdays, politely decline the cupcake. I swear some of my weight has been put on solely because I can't always follow my own advice!! :)

Also, some of our teachers bring sneakers to school so they can walk around the hallways during their lunch or prep time.

5. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 21, 2007

For lunch, I pretty much eat either a lean cuisine or a weight watchers frozen meal. Find the varities that you like, and they are filling with not a whole lot of calories. Also, if going to the gym is a priority for you--schedule that time for yourself. It's soooo easy to neglect ourselves so that we can do stuff for the kids--but you have to take care of yourself too!

6. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado