Keep Masters on Resume?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Deuces 88, Jun 5, 2014.

1. Deuces 88

Deuces 88 Rookie

Jun 5, 2014

Hello all. A little about me. I am a teacher in NJ. For the past five years i have taught part time, substitute taught and took two maternity leaves all which has been great experience. I love to teach and all the people i work with tell me i'm great to work with.

Originally i was a phys ed major, however i found myself wanting to teach in a classroom once i gained experience, especially special ed. So i went out and got certified in Special Ed (teacher program), Elementary Ed and Middle School Science. This is the first year i am applying using all four certifications.

My question however pertains to my Masters. Originally after my undergrad i got a MA in Administraion. While i'm proud of that accomplishment i also realize it can go against me. The majority of people tell me to leave it on my resume, however i hear stories of districts who won't even look at me because of it.

I took it off my resume but am considering adding it back on. With it i'll have a total of 52 grad credits. I just want to know people's opinions, will it help or hurt me? Or does it just depend on the district?

I've put so much time and effort into this teaching thing. I love doing it, however the search has been extremely stressful. I second guess myself alot. Thanks for any opinions, they would be appreciated.

3. Briana008

Briana008 Companion

Jun 6, 2014

I would definitely leave it on. Wouldn't you be listing it on an application anyway? Omitting major info on a resume seems like a bad idea.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 6, 2014

Leave it on.

5. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Jun 6, 2014

Leave it on, but I agree: I know that some P's won't want to have to pay for a person who has a Master's degree. It's a complete shame- you're better educated than without it and that's worthwhile for our students!

6. catnfiddle