Keep interviewing?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by DSD, Jun 6, 2013.

1. DSD

DSD Rookie

Jun 6, 2013

I was offered and accepted a position at a school I really like (ideal grade, subject, location). It's an established charter school with an excellent progress report from the DOE. I am truly thrilled.

However, I'm wondering if I shouldn't go to two interviews I lined up before the offer. There are two reasons for this, both of which I know are mostly my own neuroses. First, it is an at-will agreement, which I've never worked under before; and, second, my family, who really look down on teaching, have me fearing that the position will disappear because of funding. Am I crazy to consider going on these interviews?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jun 6, 2013

Personally, I would NOT go on the interview. Doing so would waste their time; there are plenty of qualified candidates that didn't land an interview, and I think it is unfair to them as well. Plus, if you eventually are offered a position, it is doing more harm to the district and the other interviewees. Not to mention it will cause more stress and second guessing on your end.
    This, of course, is just my opinion.

I'm assuming you've signed a contract? If not, my opinion completely changes. I've been at-will for years. My entire state is at-will- unions are illegal. I wouldn't stress about that.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jun 6, 2013

Reason number one...being at will works both ways...you can leave without having your certificate censored. Many states have now eliminated tenure, which puts people like me (40+ teaching) on an annual contract in an at will state. Not a problem at all.

Reason number two...many, many professions lay people off...is that a reason not to pursue your chosen career?

It sounds like you have been offered a job you will like...you may just have to deal with your family.

5. DSD

DSD Rookie

Jun 6, 2013