Keep banging my head against the wall or give up?

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by trina, Dec 12, 2007.

1. trina

trina Companion

Dec 12, 2007

Background: I teach 6,7,8 science, 6 language arts, and 7 literature. Last year it was all 3 language arts, 1 science, 1 lit. My degree is in secondary language arts, and I'm working on dual certification in science.

Problem: I am banging my head against a wall with my 6th grade language arts class. We've been doing capitalization and punctuation this semester. Caps they did OK on, but punctuation is killing them. They won't learn the rules, or apply the rules, or even realize that they SHOULD be applying the rules. I talked to the 5th grade teacher, and she told me to tell them that they are making her look bad, which I did. She said they all were doing fine with punctuation last year.