Kagan techniques

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ChristyF, Aug 13, 2008.

1. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Aug 13, 2008

I just finished a one day training in the Kagan Cooperative Learning techniques and I am really excited about using them in my room. Does anyone out there have any experience with using them? Any tips or suggestions to pass along? (http://www.kaganonline.com/ is the website for anyone who isn't familiar with the program)

3. Shinchan

Shinchan Rookie

Aug 13, 2008

I've used them a little bit...I have the cards from my teacher certificaton program. I do need to go over them again. If I was a classroom teacher I'd probably use them more.

4. sue35

sue35 Habitué

Aug 13, 2008

I am so jealous! I love Kagan and wish I could go to a conference. I have a lot of books and whenever I do anything "Kagan" related my kids love it. Very cooperative learning based

5. hbdb

hbdb Rookie

Aug 14, 2008

Does anyone have the smartcard toolbox? Does it come with all of the smartcards? How often do you use them? I want to know more about them but you can't click on any online to see them up close:)

6. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Aug 15, 2008

Mine was just a one day training. It was more about the grouping and some of the structures to use (round robin, etc). It was awesome and I would love to get more of the training.

7. Joji

Joji Rookie

Aug 15, 2008

I took the week training last summer and loved it- I don't have enough kids at the same time to do the team games but I have use the learning chips for team building (social skills) and as icebreakers- kids love them. I used Mozart Creativity CD to play while the kids are "thinking of stories". I also have used goofy games book as a "brain break" and we really enjoy those. The kids also love fan n pick and other sharing strategies that are in the binder as well. GOOD luck and have fun with it!!!!

8. IndyJo

IndyJo Companion

Aug 15, 2008