Just need to rant about parents!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by srfjeld, Apr 23, 2009.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Apr 23, 2009

So, I am in the process of trying to organize my first field trip, ever as I am a first year teacher. The second grade teacher and I are sharing a bus to take our kids to the zoo. I have an AMAZING room parent who takes care of most things for me. I had her get an idea of which parents want to be chaperones. I had initially told her that it would be fine to bring siblings to the zoo but those parents would have to drive separately. I later learned that our principal doesn't want sibs there due to safety concerns of having my chaperones in charge of their kids as well as those I'm responsible. I completely understand that. Well, I emailed my room parent to let her know and she forwarded my email to the parents to let them know so everyone was on the same page... well, then, all hell broke loose. The room parent CC'd me on the email to the parents so all of they replies came to me as well (joy!). A couple said the policy is "ridiculous" and that they would just not chaperone but follow the bus with their sibs and have their kid be with them at the zoo anyway b/c it's a "public" place and the school can't keep them out. True, but PLEASE, give me a freakin' break! Seriously? Well, then it went on from there. One parent wrote and said she was a teacher and that this is a huge endeavor for me and they should respect the policy. A few agreed and then another said her sib was going with her husband and that others who wanted to could pal around with them but to "be sure they stay at least 10 or more feet away so they don't lose their recess." Who are the kids here? I SERIOUSLY feel like telling the parents that unless they can be adults about this, either they can't come, or I'm canceling the trip altogether. This trip is for my class of FIRST GRADERS who have worked hard all year. Why don't they just have a family day at the