Just hired as Computer teacher

Discussion in 'Library/Media Teachers' started by FLnewbie, Aug 8, 2014.

1. FLnewbie

FLnewbie Rookie

Aug 8, 2014

Not sure if this is the right subgroup to post my query if not, please point me in the right direction) but I've just been hired to teach computer skills at a K-8 Catholic school, and I hardly know where to start! :dizzy: There will be 14 sections, each meeting once per week in the lab.

Some background - I have 20 years of professional editing experience and am a veteran user of Word, PowerPoint, Excel with a little html experience. Looking at the curriculum, I'll be able to handle the instruction, although my subject matter certifications are in middle grades English and K-6 general education. Teaching background: preschool, subbing in elementary, and workshops for adults.

My nebulous plan: visit the teacher to ask which subject matter they would like us to focus on, so we can use the computer training to extend other subject work. I'm drawing up a little question sheet that I will hand out Monday at our in-service training.

Questions: Each class will only meet with me about 3 dozen times over the course of a year. Is it feasible to do a different "unit" each month, focusing the content for skills on one subject over 4 lessons? How would you teach a weekly computer class: units or self-contained lessons? Any special classroom management must-dos for a computer lab?

I'd appreciate any wisdom you can share! thanks so much :thumb:

3. Samus_Aran

Samus_Aran New Member

Aug 21, 2014