just a vent!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by txmomteacher2, Dec 20, 2013.

1. txmomteacher2

txmomteacher2 Connoisseur

Dec 20, 2013

Let me preface this with I know some families really struggle at this time of year. I get it! I have been there before I was a teacher and my husband was the only one working. But at today's gift exchange I two kids that didn't bring their gift. One of families I know doesn't have the money. Dad's in prison, mom just got out, the kids just moved here. Although they did send a present with the sister to her class. The other family though different story. In fact when the mom got to my class she was like ooooops I forgot to send a present with him. You would think that if you want your child to get a gift and not be heart broken that you would make sure that your kid brings one. The second kid has major issues with being different, told no, or getting things. If he thinks he is being cheated any in way shape or form he throws a huge temper tantrum. Basically he is spoiled!!!! She just laughed it off like oh I forgot to send it. I felt like basically she was setting me up for him to throw a huge tantrum. Well I had a couple of books that I bought at the book fair a couple of weeks ago so I just wrapped those up and let those two kids give them as gifts. But boy I was I miffed that they didn't send gifts. I should have just let those two suffer, but really its the ignorance of their parents. grrrrrrr just needed a vent, a vacation and lots of adult beverages!!!!!

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Dec 20, 2013