Just a sub

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by somedayteacher, Aug 24, 2007.

1. somedayteacher

somedayteacher Rookie

Aug 24, 2007

Do other teachers ever say something about you being only the sub or just a sub? If so, does it bother you?
    -Paula

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 24, 2007

Not to my face anyway!! And even if they did, I would be sure they knew I was a certified teacher.

4. MsDeb

MsDeb Comrade

Aug 24, 2007

A very few do but most are very respectful! Especially those who have been sub at some time themselves!!!
    It does really bother me when it happens though. I consider myself a professional and act like one at all times regardless of pay or comments!
    MsSub

5. kabd54

kabd54 Cohort

Aug 24, 2007

Remember - in our profession, there's no such thing as "just" an anything. Everyone's job is important.

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 25, 2007

Most of the supply teachers who work in our school are treated with respect, and many become almost like a member of the staff. Those who don't are those who: are consistently late for school, classes or duties; don't follow plans left by the teacher; complain about the staff and students; fail to treat students with respect. Classroom teachers could not do their jobs effectively without fabulous, dependable supply teachers!

7. koop

koop Rookie

Aug 26, 2007

I have found that it depends on the school system you are working in. I work for three different school districts and each school and building treats their subs differently. At my daughters school for instance the teachers don't even talk much to me, but at another school in the same district I get talked to by everyone. I think it greatly depends on the demenaor that is set by the building principal. In my daughters building new teachers were told not to talk to older teachers in their building. I really don't like working there.

8. smalltowngal

Aug 26, 2007