Junior High is killing me!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Ms.SLS, Oct 20, 2011.

1. Ms.SLS

Ms.SLS Cohort

Oct 20, 2011

In my previous life, I taught high school. This is my first year teaching junior high, and I almost feel like I'm starting all over again!
    I'm not a push-over teacher by any means, but I'm not getting through to a couple of my more squirrely classes.

So far I have...
    Made calls home.
    Made THEM call home
    Student conferences
    Lunch detention
    allow for group work
    allow for talking time (on topic)
    have activities with movement
    make them line up at the door
    bell ringer activity

Basically, everything I can think of, but still, they interupt, laugh at EVERYTHING, and in general, are driving me crazy. I know part of it is the age, but I also know the more seasoned Jr. High teachers here aren't having the same kinds of issues.

What am I missing?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Oct 20, 2011

You're missing experience with middle school.

I, too switched from high school to middle school.

I moved from teaching juniors and seniors to teaching seventh graders. OMG! I didn't know what I had done. I agreed to take the job because it was the only thing available in my district after my high school job was eliminated.

Seemed like there was very little room for error in middle school. They are such a interesting mixture of little kid, teenager, and lunatic that there is no way to be fully prepared for middle school.

I'll have to say that I got better at it each year, although it wasn't until about 5 years that I really, truly learned to ENJOY them. Part of the trick is to learn to roll with it. Trying to change them and mold them into what I want them to be is not the answer. It's much easier to embrace their eccentricities and work within those parameters.