Jr. High Social studies

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by TheyLetMeTeach?, Sep 17, 2006.

1. TheyLetMeTeach?

TheyLetMeTeach? Rookie

Sep 17, 2006

Hi Everyone, this is my first year teaching social studies to middle school grades, even though I've been teaching for many years. Anyone have any innovative ideas on how to organize the class? My biggest problem is assigning reading outside of class with so many low readers and English language learners. Help!:confused:

3. PurpleTweety

PurpleTweety Companion

Sep 17, 2006

Totally OT, but I LOVE your username! LOL!
    I think you either organize your class into mixed groups -with some good readers, some low readers and some ESL - so they all learn from each other (maybe even some peer tutoring, extra credit could be offered even); or you organize into good readers, low readers, and ESL readers and you give each material at the level they can handle. In the second, I would treat it almost like a split class and have totally different requirements and expectations.
    If you have a really significant number of low and ESL readers you may have no choice but to modify your reading assignments.
    My first suggestion would be to see if you can find some materials which cover the same topics you do, just at lower reading levels. Second suggestion: You may need to move some of the reading from outside of class to inside of class. Do some read aloud yourself or have some round-robin or selected student reading. That way, those who couldn't read it on their own, do still hear/cover the material.
    Third suggestion: Get some of the reading assignments put onto tape or DVD which the low-reading and ESL students could borrow. (maybe extra credit or something for some older students or your good readers)