journals/writer's workshop

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by JamieLeigh, Dec 11, 2009.

1. JamieLeigh

JamieLeigh Rookie

Dec 11, 2009

This is my first year teaching and I was wondering what other kindergarten teachers' journal time/writer's workshop looked like. The other K teachers at my school don't do a lot of writing, but I'm finding, as I've been doing journal writing every day for the last couple of months, that this writing time has helped my students' reading skills more than anything else we are doing. We started out with story starters, but now I give them an open ended prompt as I walk around and monitor/help them sound out words/use the word wall. I was wondering how you all handle writing. Do you give prompts or let them write about anything. Thanks :cool:

3. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Dec 11, 2009

We use Lucy Calkins and it is very adamant about not using prompts of any kind even at the very beginning of school. So, for writer's workshop they completely self-select what to write about as long as it is a personal narrative. I do use journal time in other parts of the day and give prompts or directions for writing a specific kind of story.

4. JamieLeigh

JamieLeigh Rookie

Dec 12, 2009

Which of her books do you suggest for kindergarten?

5. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Dec 12, 2009

I also use open-ended prompts - they're quite open-ended, but prompts none the less. I do this for two reasons:

1) I think developmentally, it's very difficult for such young children to come up with their own ideas all the time. Giving a little guidance helps them feel successful as early writers.

2) Kids need to learn to write to a prompt. Whether we like it or not, as they continue through school, almost all kids will need to write to a prompt (hello, college essays!). It's good to practice.

6. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Dec 12, 2009