Journal Writing Question

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MissSherry, Sep 10, 2006.

1. MissSherry

MissSherry Rookie

Sep 10, 2006

Ok, this is my first year teaching. I am in second grade. I love it so far...despite the fact that I feel as though I am simply keeping my head above water. This is our second week of school...we have had 4 days of class so far.

I have had the students write in their journals twice. For the most part, my students have come up with some great journal entries. Many are great at sound spelling and giving good descriptions. BUT I have a couple students who really struggle with journal writing. One in particular, I cannot understand what he is writing even when he draws a picture to accompany it. So my question is...is it ok to sit with him during journal time and help him to gather his thoughts or to sound spell with him? Any other tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

3. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Sep 10, 2006

Sure its ok! You have to do what you need to do so that he is able to do his work. Hopefully after working with him for awhile, you will be able to decrease the amount of "help" you provide and gradually release the responsibility to him. Also, depending on what type of words he is trying to spell, could he use a word wall or personal dictionary to help him? By the way, are you giving the students prompts or letting them choose what to write about?

4. MissSherry

MissSherry Rookie

Sep 10, 2006

I am using a word wall for our spelling program since the canadian spelling program is not that great. The word wall words will start next week and at that time I will definitely be encouraging the students to use the word wall. Also when I reply to their journal entries, I try to add the misspelled words to my response so they see the correct way.