Job Searching without your P knowing?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SCTeacher23, Sep 2, 2010.

1. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Sep 2, 2010

This is my first year teaching. I am single, so I picked up and moved from my hometown to a small town that I knew nothing about because that is where I could find a job. So far, I like the school that I am at, but ideally, I would eventually like to return to my hometown. It's nothing personal about the school or anything.

I don't mind the school and I don't mind the small town that I live in, but I would like to move back as soon as I can (hopefully for the 2011-2012 school year). Most districts require a reference from your current P. How would I go about applying for a position in another district, but with having the option of coming back to my current school? (if i am asked back). I feel like that would not look good if I told my P that I was looking for another job and was only going to come back if I don't find another job. Of course I would like to relocate, but I would much rather stay at my current school than have no job at all. So is there any way of applying for a job at another district with having this option in mind or would I just have to resign and hope that I find another job? I know that the interview season for the following school year is a long way away, but I was just curious how this would all work!

3. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Sep 2, 2010

I did it a few years ago... but that was when the app was valid BEFORE references were needed. In other words, I could submit my app and interview - the reference was only needed once the P was ready to offer me a job.

(At which point my old P kept "forgetting" my reference and my new P finally called and got a reference over the phone).